Quick Links

Quick Links

Back to top

Becket Primary School


At Becket Primary School we cherish the starting points of all children and aim to provide a broad and balanced curriculum which is inclusive, enjoyable, inspiring and challenging for all our pupils. Our curriculum is based on the 2014 National Curriculum.

By the time our pupils leave the school, we aim to ensure that they have achieved their potential to thrive in a changing world by developing and mastering key skills, attitudes and knowledge across a range of subjects. Their learning should be interconnected and personal and social skills are nurtured as key drivers so that pupils thrive as resilient, responsible learners.

We aim to enhance the knowledge and skills the pupils develop by providing a variety of opportunities, including outdoor learning which introduce new ideas and experiences.

Our aim is that through our curriculum, our pupils will make a successful transition to the next phase of their education and adopt the British values necessary for them to aspire to making a positive contribution to a diverse, multi-cultural society.

Becket Primary School Curriculum Implementation

For the core subjects of English, Maths and Science children in Year 1 to Year 6 are following the National Curriculum 2014. Please follow this link to see what your child will be learning in their year group National curriculum – GOV.UK

Children working in Reception and Nursery are following the Early Years curriculum 2014. Early years (under 5s) foundation stage framework (EYFS) – Publications – GOV.UK.

For all other foundation subjects we follow the 2014 National Curriculum which in our school is organised into topics with the intent that the children make connections across subjects whilst they are learning. These topics are planned into a two year cycle, where if possible connections are made between the different subjects that are being taught. The children will also be practising, developing and applying their reading, writing and maths skills across all of their topics. The topics are organised into the different areas of learning which are listed below:

Historical, Geographical and Social Understanding  (Includes History, Geography, Religious Education and Foreign language (KS2 only))

Understanding the Arts (Includes Music, Art and Design)

Understanding Science and Technology (Includes Science, Computing, ICT and Design Technology)

Understanding Physical Development, Health and Well – being (Includes P.E and Personal, Social and Health Education)

Our topics are planned in phases  – Foundation Stage, Year 1 + 2, Year 3 + 4 and Year 5 + 6. There are topic overviews planned which include a differentiation of skills, knowledge and understanding for each year group for each subject in the areas of learning. For each topic there is a detailed sequence of lessons being developed for each subject area covered. Some of our topics will last for one full term, some will be shorter units of work.

The personal and social education of our children is the driver which underpins our curriculum as a result the Thrive strategy is incorporated across the school.

The school follows the Derbyshire Agreed R.E syllabus 2014. The principal aim of R.E is to enable pupils to participate in ongoing search for wisdom, through exploring questions raised by human experience and answers offered by the religions and beliefs of the people of Derbyshire and the wider community, so as to promote their personal development. The children will be learning about the main religions of the world including those represented in our community.

The school will be implementing the new Derbyshire Agreed R.E syllabus in September 2020.